THE Fair is coming!

image

Right now I feel like a little kid. THE Mother Earth News Fair is THIS weekend in Asheville, NC. We are camping at the fairgrounds Friday and Saturday then camping at Wilson’s River Front RV Park on Sunday. We attended the first annual Mother Earth News Fair in Asheville last year and it gave us a completely new outlook on life.

To live more simple.

My mom and bonus dad went to the News Fair in Pennsylvania a few years ago and raved about it. So when Daniel and I got married they got us a subscription to the Mother Earth News Magazine. We love it. They offer articles on living a more self-sustained lifestyle,  gardening tips, recipes, tending to your livestock, innovative ‘green’ products and so much more. This magazine keeps us pumped! If you can’t or don’t want to commit to the magazine their website offers a lot of helpful articles right on the web.

Last year we sat in on one class that made us really think about what we wanted in life. As we were walking away from the tent hand in hand Daniel looked at me and asked me if I thought of anything during that class. From there we decided it was time to start a family. That was in April. In May… well May 8, 2014, on our 1 year anniversary, we found out that we would be expecting our first child in January 2015.

So this year our little girl will be attending the fair with us and I don’t think we could be any more excited. This year we have a family and a better idea of what direction we want to go with our homestead for our family.

The fair offers attendees so much: hands on workshops, demos, seed vendors, unique food vendors, a one of a kind book store and much more. I learned last year that if you want to take advantage of the $.99 seed packet booth you need to go Saturday morning! We went Sunday morning last year and it had been hit hard. It will be the first place we go this year! You CANNOT buy organic non-GMO seeds for $.99 anywhere – except The Mother Earth News Fair!

This year we plan to take several classes. We plan on taking “Compost Your Way to Better Soil”, “Home Poultry Processing”, “Farming Finances”, “The Best Berry… Is the One You Grow Yourself”, “Sustainable Living Simplified”, “Becoming a Beekeeper”, “Grow a Sustainable Diet”, “Considering Cattle? Make the MOOve!”, and “Raisin’ Cane and Gettin’ Juiced”. I seriously can’t contain my excitement! I won’t make the mistake of not taking a notebook like I did last year!

So I’m hoping I will be able to bring home a lot of new information on living more self-sustained not just for our family but yours too. So sign up for my email notifications so you can be notified as I post on here.

If you can make it to Asheville this weekend for the fair I highly recommend it. You can purchase your wristbands at the door, $30 each for Saturday and Sunday. There are different workshops both days. So get out and get involved with these incredible hands on workshops. View the full schedule here.

OH! They have the most amazing bookstore! And some workshop speakers offer discounts on certain books! It’s so worth it.

GO and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

