Use your calendar for more than your vacation days

Yesterday as I was putting O in her stroller I thought to myself how lucky I am. DSC_0690 I used to sit behind a computer staring at my calendar counting down the days until our next camping trip. I remember come garden time I would map out my garden over and over in my head and onto paper. There’s no telling how many times I told myself, “I wish I could just be at home working in my garden.” DSC_0696 As I buckled her in and we approached our garden I realized how lucky I am. I have the ultimate job… caring for our little girl and managing our homestead. I can now layout our garden and plant in one day versus planting after I’ve worked all day and throughout a week or two. I can also schedule my planting to know when to expect harvest from each plant versus having things come in ready to harvest while we are on vacation.

It never fails for that to happen. So yesterday I went through my seeds and counted out on the calendar marking the expected harvest day for each seed. The only crop that may come in while we are out-of-town would be corn but at least I know and can plan for someone to be here and pick the garden while we are gone.

I'm pretty sure I asked him to lift up his shirt and model for me.
I’m pretty sure I asked him to lift up his shirt and model for me.
Tilling our front garden.
Tilling our front garden.

Daniel tilled our garden the day before yesterday and got our potato patch ready. Ahhh there’s something about fresh moved dirt. I love it. I guess it’s just the farmer in me. Normally I would let the soil sit for a few days allowing the weeds and grass to die but I couldn’t resist. O and I planted green beans, cow peas, onion sets, spaghetti squash, and three different types of corn.

Our potato patch.
Our potato patch.
Potato patch soil.
Potato patch soil.

So far we’ve spent $27 on seeds and we have several stowed away for a fall planting. I still have to get a few more seeds and some tomato and pepper plants. We’ve been searching for a local that’s selling plants but we just don’t have many here that are selling organic plants.

By this fall we are hoping to have a green house. This would allow us to grow year around and start more plants from seed. It’s always been a goal of ours but with both of us working we could never make the time to build one. I’m hoping in the end I can have our garden at its finest under $100. That’s nothing compared to what is spent at the grocery store and this garden will hopefully shrink that expense.

When planting your garden remember to pay attention to the ‘Days to Harvest’ on your seed packet. Get a calendar just for your garden if it helps. On the day you plant, count the days that’s listed on the packet from that day and write what should be harvested that day onto the calendar. A lot of factors will play a role into whether you’ll harvest that day or not like weather, rain, etc. But if nothing else you at least have a guideline to go by. I even make plant markers and write.. what it is, the date I planted it and how many days till harvest and put them by the plant rows. I know some may say this is redundant but with how busy we get its nice to look back and have a memo.

My calendar for July so far
My calendar for July so far

Just an update on our raspberries… We have blooms!!

Our raspberries are blooming!
Our raspberries are blooming!
Our raspberries are blooming!
Our raspberries are blooming!

Sign up for my email notifications so you don’t miss a post!

Leave a Reply

